Young boxer disqualified for phantom bite

Boxer Shafqat Khan
Boxer Shafqat Khan

Rising Aylesbury boxing star Shafqat Khan was disqualified at the CYP National Championships after the referee wrongly thought he had bitten his opponent.

Khan went into the tournament in Harrow full of confidence but was left frustrated after being eliminated after the official’s error.

At level pegging with his first opponent from the London region, Khan was on top in the final round when the ref stopped the fight after a tangle accusing the Aylesbury teenager of sinking his teeth into his rival.

The opposing fighter had in fact burnt his shoulder on the ropes and Khan said the only person who thought he had used his teeth was the man that mattered.

Out of hundreds of people no-one saw a bite other than the ref,” he said.

“I think I lost the first round but boxed well in the second and in the third I had him all over the place. I had him hurt and caught him with so many big shots.

“We got tangled at one point and the guy screamed and they disqualified me. The ref even said he didn’t see a bite.

“The other team also come up to me and said the ref had no right to stop it if he didn’t anything.”

Despite his obvious disappointment the Golden Bengal-backed fighter said he would learn from the experience.

He said: “I learnt quite a bit! Firstly not to give the opponent enough time to cry to the ref and every fight is an experience, I just wish it was fair and also not in their home town.”