Roles changeover at Rotary Club

editorial image
Share this article

The annual changeover of roles have taken place at Haddenham and District Rotary Club to mark its 24th year.

Peter Davis took over as president after Alan Dichler’s successful year. John Crowle is president elect.

Accepting his new role Peter made it clear that as the 24th president his focus would be to hand over the club in great shape for its 25th celebrations in 2012.

He said: “Now is the time to think about the future of Rotary in our area. To this end, we shall be setting in motion the creation of a new club, targeted at those younger men and women who wish to contribute to their local community and the developing world while having fun.”

There will be a meeting of interested men and women at the Rose and Thistle on September 28 to discuss the formation of the new club. Put it in your diaries!

Roger Rickard continues as secretary, Frank Readman is treasurer and John Brown is the vice-president.

Pictured right, Peter Davis accepts his chain of office from Immediate Past President Alan Dichler

The annual photographic competition for young people was judged by Paul Wilkinson, the multi-award winning local photographer, assisted by a team of amateurs.

In making the awards Paul commented that “the quality of many of the entries submitted was such that many professional photographers would have been proud to have created them. It’s slightly scary!”

Winning entries are being displayed in the library. Almost 100 people attended the presentation in Haddenham where awards were made as follows:

Age 6-10: “Family”: 1st – Adam Carpenter; 2nd – Belle Owen; 3rd – Klara Moore; HC Joe Langford and Dan Hatton.

Age 11-14: “Weather”: 1st= Trafford Brown and Jimmy Austin; 3rd – Kirra Smith; HC – Laura Cooper-Smith, Emma Wagland; Commended – Olly Bevan, Megan Higgins, Emma Cottrell and Daisy Clarke.

Age 15-18: “Movement”: 1st – Steven Ardley; 2nd – Becky Mai; 3rd – Matt Bassett; HC – Alice Brighouse, Connor Kendrick and Sam Cobourne; Commended: Liam Johnson and Arthur Luff..

Pictured right, president Peter Davis presents an award certificate.