Elmhurst by-election candidates announced

Iain Bozier
Iain Bozier

The five candidates hoping to become the new town councillor for Elmhurst have been announced.

A by-election has been sparked following the resignation of Liberal Democrat Iain Bozier, with the vote due to be held on December 12.

The candidates are:

> Ann Day, UKIP

> Nigel Foster, Green Party

> Niknam Hussain, Liberal Democrat

> Gary Paxton, Labour

> Sarah Sproat, Conservative

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm in Elmhurst Community Centre, Fairfax Crescent, and Alfred Rose Community Centre, Dunsham Lane.

The count will be held at Aylesbury Vale District Council’s Gateway offices, starting at 10.15pm.

Applications to vote by post must be received by 5pm on November 27.

The deadline to apply for a proxy vote is December 4.

For more information, contact AVDC’s elections team on 01296 585807 or email electoralreg@aylesburyvaledc.gov.uk