Magnificent seven triumph at Thame awards ceremony

Winners of Thame Town Awards 2014 PNL-140716-144806001
Winners of Thame Town Awards 2014 PNL-140716-144806001

Seven deserving Thame people were presented with awards to show them just how much they are appreciated in the town.

Over 90 nominations were received for a number of different categories - from service with a smile to lifetime achievement - which made it a difficult task to choose winners. But the council managed to narrow it down and select six individuals and one group who particularly stood out.

The award for voluntary organisation was presented to Sharing Life for their outstanding efforts both within the community - providing debt counselling, family support and transport aid - and also globally - extending their support to East Africa and India.

Person of courage went to Nathaneal Armstrong, who aged 16 was diagnosed with an extremely rare allergy to all proteins and sugars, drastically impacting his health. Prior to his illness, Nat was a gifted county swimmer and continues to support his club.Nat and his family have set up a trust to help raise the money to fund his expensive medical treatment, and the award is to recognise his inspirational bravery throughout.

The most prestigious of awards - the lifetime achievement - went to Beatrice Dobie, an active member of the Thame community who was a member of the council herself for many years, and continues to be a representative of the Community Hospital League of Friends.

Other awards included sporting achievement- Les Canfield, young achiever- Harry Parsons, service with a smile- Michael Hutt, and voluntary individual- Ken Bennell.

Town mayor Jeanette Matelot Green concluded the ceremony by thanking Pat Ruxton, who announced she was stepping down as chairman of the panel after six years. Pat spoke of all the people in Thame who “do great things quietly” and said she was proud to be part of a scheme that recognised these unsung people for their achievements.

For a full list of nominations, visit www.