Henley constituency re-elects Conservative John Howell – as their former MP Boris Johnson returns to parliament

Boris Johnson and John Howell in Thame
Boris Johnson and John Howell in Thame

Conservative MP John Howell has retained his seat in the Henley constituency, which includes Thame.

Mr Howell gained 32,292 votes, a 58.5% share, up 2.3% on 2010.

Labour’s Sam Juthani was second with 6,917 votes, Lib Dem Sue Cooper third with 6,205 (down nearly 14% on 2010), UKIP’s Chris Jones fourth with 6,007 and Green Mark Stevenson last with 3,815.

Mr Howell’s Conservative predecessor in Henley, Mayor of London Boris Johnson, has returned to parliament after winning Uxbridge and South Ruislip, on what looks to have been a good night for the Tories across the country.