General election candidates announced for the Henley constituency

Election 2015
Election 2015

The candidates for the forthing coming parliamentary elections in the Henley constituency have been announced.

Five candidates have been nominated to contest the Henley constituency on Thursday, May 7.

The nominations for the parliamentary elections are:

Sue Cooper (Liberal Democrat); John Howell (Conservative Party); Christopher Jones (UKIP); Sam Juthani (Labour Party) and Mark Stevenson (Green Party).

Mr Howell has been Henley’s MP since June 2008, after winning a by-election held in the wake of former MP for the area Boris Johnson being elected as Mayor of London in May 2008.

He won the 2010 election with 56.2% of the vote, when Mr Stevenson was also a candidate.

Andy Crick won 13,466 votes for the Liberal Democrats and Richard McKenzie secured 5,835 votes for the Labour Party, but neither are standing in this year’s elections.

Five years ago, BNP candidate John Bews secured 1,020 votes but no one from the party is standing this year.

The verification and count for the parliamentary elections will be held on Thursday, May 7 at the Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon-on-Thames

OX14 3JE, starting at 10.30pm.

Results are expected to be announced in the early hours of Friday, May 8.

The candidates for the district council elections in Thame have also been announced and they are as follows:

Susan Bennett (Liberal Democrat)

David Bretherton (Liberal Democrat)

Peter Butler (UKIP)

Nigel Champken-Woods (Conservative Party)

David Dodds (Conservative Party)

Robert Hughes (Green Party)

David Laver (Liberal Democrat)

Tristram Maclean (Labour Party)

Jeannette Matelot Green (Conservative Party)

Mary Stiles (Labour Party).

There is still time to register to vote; the last date for registrations is 5pm on April 20. The deadline for applying for a postal vote is 5pm on April 21.

For more information about the elections, visit the South Oxfordshire District Council website here or call 01235 540310.