Matt leaves Frank in a Rutt to win cup

Table tennis
Table tennis
Have your say


Defending champion Bill McCafferty was upholding the older generation alongside club chairman, Nobby Tennison, and the evergreen Frank Hardy. However, younger newcomers Matthew Rutt, Mark Pierce, Dafna Dekel, Brian Hart, Biao Wang and Terry Lau conspired to upset the odds. Nobby played well meeting Frank in the semi but Bill lost his way against Matthew in the quarters. Matthew then faced the ever improving Joe Gerrans in the other semi, just doing enough to keep ahead in a momentous attack and defence contest. Nobby, with dogged persistence, outwitted Frank to meet Matthew in the final. The accumulation of games was beginning to take its toll and Nobby was just outpointed by new champion, Matthew Rutt.